The Political Leaders of Our Proud Nation

Map of Dominica
Frank Baron
First Chief Minister

Franklin Andrew Merrifield Baron was Dominica's first Chief Minister, a position from 1 January 1960 to January 1961. Chief Minister Baron was born on January 17, 1923 and he died on April 09, 2016 at the age of 93.

Patrick John
Second Premier and First Prime Minister

Patrick Roland John replaced E.O. Leblanc as Dominica’s Premiere in 1974 and went on to serve as Dominica’s first Prime Minister between November 3, 1978 to May 29, 1979. Prime Minister John was born on January 7, 1938.

Dame Eugenia
Third Prime Minister

Mary Eugenia Charles, DBE was the first female Prime Minister of Dominica and the English-Speaking Caribbean. She took over the reins of government at 61 and served for 15 years from July 21, 1980 – June 14, 1995. Dame Eugenia was born on May 15, 1919 and she died on September 6, 2005 at the age of 86.

Roosie Douglas
Fifth Prime Minister

Roosevelt Bernard "Rosie" Douglas served as Prime Minister from February 2000; he died in office on October 1, 2000 at the age of 58 (Rosie was born on October 15, 1941).

Roosevelt Skerrit
Seventh Prime Minister

Roosevelt Skerrit became Prime Minister following the passing of Pierre Charles. He has served in that office since 2004 and is the incumbent Prime Minister of Dominica. Skerrit was born June 8, 1972).

E O Leblanc
Second Chief Minister and First Premier

Edward Oliver Le Blanc was the first Premiere of Dominica. Born on October 8, 1923, Mr. LeBlanc went on to serve as the second Chief Minister (January 1961 – March 1967) and First Premiere (March 1, 1967 – January 27, 1974). E.O. Leblanc died on October 29, 2004; he was 81.

O J Seraphin
Interim Prime Minister

Oliver James "O. J." Seraphin served as interim Prime Minister of Dominica following the overthrow of the Patrick John administration. He was Prime Minister from June 25, 1979 to July 21, 1980. OJ was born August 2, 1943.

Edison James
Fourth Prime Minister

Edison Chenfil James served as Prime Minister of Dominica between June 14, 1995 – February 3, 2000. He was born on October 18, 1943.

Pierre Charles
Sixth Prime Minister

Pierre Charles replaced Rosie Douglas as Prime Minister on October 1, 2000 until he died in office on January 6, 2004 at the age of 49 (He was born on June 30, 1954).

View Dominica’s national symbols: